Hello everyone! It has been a few days since I have arrived back from my glorious trip to England. Oh how glorious it was indeed. I wasn’t quite ready to come back, as it was a quick paced and busy trip. And boy, do I LOVE ENGLAND!

I arrived in England last Monday night, and we hit the schedule pretty hard on Tuesday morning when Fran’s daughter Lily ran through the door at 8:30 and says “WHERE’S LINDSAY!?” I had just woken up, but it always makes me feel like a superstar when a child thinks I’m fun to be around. So we started the day with Snakes and Ladders before breakfast, and we didn’t stop for the rest of the day. During the day I was a wizard, a witch, a giant, all three bears in the Goldilocks story, Jack (Jack and the Beanstalk), and an evil stepsister. We also had an imaginary sports competition, which was kind of like Field Day. We won  the three legged race. We didn’t have much competition to be honest, but I won a toy car as my prize! Basically, Lily is the most fun and HILARIOUS.

Also, Bobby is so big now! He is walking all over the place, no, RUNNING. He has so much hair and he is starting to say a few words. He is also a bit of a trouble maker. He will do something he’s not supposed to, then smiles by crinkling up his nose and giggling. It’s so hard to say NO when he is THAT CUTE. He is also totally tractor koo koo, and loves his John Deere magazine with tractors and lawn mowers. Bobby and Lily are both such lovely children, and I am so glad that I’ve been able to see them a couple times. I hope that I will be able to go back to England sooner rather than later!
Ok let’s talk about THE OLYMPICS. Wow. Whoa. Ah! Ooh! Eeee! Whee! We arrived in London well before the start time, so we decided to stake out our places at a restaurant very close to the stadium. It was perfect because they were showing all the other sports on big screens. For example, rhythmic gymnastics. Two words: so. cool. Anyway, as more and more people arrived, the atmosphere was getting more and more energized. There were loads of Americans there, because you can spot us like we’re a different species. What is it about us that makes us STAND OUT? It was great to see so many Americans/English speakers though. I thought wow, I can talk to anyone and everyone in this restaurant and they understand what I’m saying. How. cool.

Anyway, we get to Wembley Stadium and the atmosphere is AMAAAAZING. There were over 80,000 fans at the women’s final soccer match. It was crazy to see so much support for women’s soccer, as that many people is nearly unheard of. As a female American soccer player, this game was very near and dear to my heart. USA beat Japan 2-1, and I think I chewed off all my fingernails in the last ten minutes of the game. I thought if USA wins gold I am actually going to pass out. I didn’t luckily, but I almost did when I saw them get their medals. I was honestly so proud of our team. I was waving a huge American flag like a nutso, but it was the most electrifying experience ever. I think the only thing that could possibly top that experience would be if I met Lady GaGa in person. It was a once in a lifetime experience. OH YEAH.  Brandi Chastain was standing about 7 yards in front of me. For those of you who don’t know, she is the one who ripped off her shirt and slid on the ground at the ’99 World Cup. She was an amazing soccer player, and was probably on every girl’s wall when they were 9. She was definitely on mine, and to see her was UNREAL.

If you ever ever EVER have a once in a lifetime opportunity, TAKE IT.

p.s. I have more to write about my trip, but my eyeballs hurt from looking at the computer. I’ll write more later today, I promise!