These are three reasons why I feel I am CONQUERING in Russia:

I have always wanted to go into a place and say “Bert, give me the usual!” A place where you go SO frequently that they know you, you’re friends, and they know what you want, how you like it, and then maybe throw a little something special in because you’re a regular. Well listen up everybody, I am finally fulfilling my hopes! Today I walked into LUSH cosmetics store (I believe in this institution fully and abide by its gospel) and one of the salespeople Masha, told her other worker to throw something in my bag because I was a “special client.” This should give you some indication of HOW MUCH time and money I have spent there, as they know me by name. I was like OH YEAH SPECIAL CLIENT WALKING THROUGH! LUSH isn’t super popular in the States ( I don’t know WHYYYY??!!!) and I think it’s a bit cheaper in Russia as well. Regardless, you should treat yourself to something from there. You will feel better.

Another reason as to why I am conquering in Russia is because I made homemade bread without any form of measurement. I used a mug and my own eyeballs as measuring tools and the bread actually turned out pretty well. It wasn’t AS awesome as it could have been, but I was pretty proud and proceeded to eat half a loaf by my lonesome. So good. One thing I have learned in Russia is that you can really make do without a lot of things. I have gotten used to not having a dishwasher, a proper ceiling, cupboards, a shower head that is attached to the wall, consistent hot water, and curtains. I broke the curtains, and the cupboard in the kitchen fell when I was getting out some spices. Neither have yet been fixed….not likely to be fixed either.

The last reason I am conquering Russia is because I GOT MY HAIRCUT. There is something about getting your haircut even in your own native language where you can’t quite communicate what you want, and you are at the mercy of your stylist. Even after you explain what you want, you sometimes leave and mess with your bangs and look at yourself constantly thinking, “WHY DID THEY CUT IT LIKE THAT??!!!!” And then you proceed to pull on your hair to help promote growth. I have pretty straight, fine, thin hair so you really can’t mess it up to badly. When I was in college (many moons ago) my mom would cut it when I came home on breaks. I have had not one but TWO perms, blue hair, a weird bleached spot from the blue hair, long hair, short hair, a bald spot from when my sister got putty stuck in it, purple hair when my sister dyed it “Crushed Garnet,” and many more weird hair moments in my life. So I am chill about my hair. Before Russia I went to a salon in Austin and said “Do whatever you wish!” Best decision I ever made. It’s just hair!

But, getting your hair cut in another language where the country is poisoned by mullets is a little intimidating. I needed a hair cut though, and I thought that I could wait until….who knows to get a hair cut. Not a wise idea. So, I walked into the Toni&Guy salon with the moral support of my friend Angela and communicated what I wanted without the result ending in a LADY MULLET. I felt very proud, look at what I can do!!!!!!!! It’s a good feeling conquering a fear. I should do it more often.

I hope everyone had a beautiful, lovely, fabulous weekend. Happy Russian Easter everyone! Soak up the sunshine and have a dance party.