Since the school year is drawing to a close, I would like to take a brief moment to reflect upon my year up to date. I can’t believe I arrived here on October 1st, and it’s almost the end of May. It would be an understatement that this year has given me many life experiences. Let’s take a look:

1. Moved to Russia
2. did an intensive teaching course
3. Got a great job as a kindergarten teacher
4. got a metal pole shoved up my butt
5. made excellent friends
6. moved into a one room apartment with Lydz
7. had some visa problems, which allowed me to stay in England for an entire MONTH. I had the best experience, and also got to see my family
8. was charged $120 for a cab ride and had 100 pounds of luggage. That’s not an exaggeration
9. started playing soccer with some pretty fly Russians
10. survived winter
11. got a governess job!
12. broke my previous laptop, and bought my very own laptop in CASH MONEY

and some things that are coming up….

1. moving into a new apartment with Kristen!
If i haven’t said this already, Kristen is the best. We met standing in line when our plane was delayed and we missed our connecting flight to Petersburg. We got to stay the night in Warsaw and it was a party! I instantly knew that she was my kind of gal. She needless to say has been very integral to my time here in Petersburg. Also, the apartment is beautiful, located in the center, the shower head is attached to the wall, and the ceiling is intact. Preeeeetty pumped.

2. I am doing some traveling this summer! I will let you know more about this later šŸ™‚

3. MY PARENTS ARE VISITING! I.am.so.excited.

So all in all, I have many, many things to be grateful for. I have met wonderful people, it’s an absolutely stunning city, I have a great job, and I am not nearly as frightened to speak Russian anymore. When I was in Novgorod last year I was like DON’T MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH ME I DON’T SPEAK RUSSIAN! Now I am much more fearless.

Life is wonderful. Go for a walk and enjoy the sunshine!